It allows residents and non-residents to fish in the Chesapeake Bay and its tributaries and in the state waters of the Atlantic Ocean and coastal bays and tributaries of the Atlantic for 7 consecutive days of fishing. The 7-day no-tide license allows the licensee to fish in Maryland freshwater for 7 consecutive days of fishing. In addition, saltwater anglers who are not required to hold a Maryland Bay %26 coastal sport fishing license and want to fish in the Chesapeake Bay and the tidal Potomac River must obtain a free Maryland Saltwater Fisherman Registration. Maryland is home to two of the most popular fishing sites in the entire country, Dundee Creek in Gunpowder Falls State Park, where you can spend the day fishing for pickerel.
The State of Maryland requires all anglers, residents or non-residents, 16 and older to purchase the necessary fishing license before fishing in waters across the state. The 3-day no-tide license (available to non-residents only) allows the licensee to fish in Maryland freshwater for 3 consecutive days of fishing. Each state in the U.S. Department of State has its own set of fishing rules and regulations to better address the issue of protecting the country's fish stocks and waterways for future generations.
Knowing the right way to catch and release certain fish species plays an important role in the conservation and preservation of the fish population, not only in Maryland but in the rest of the country. Maryland has its own set of fishing laws and regulations that must be followed to protect its fish stocks. For 25 years, recreational anglers fishing in the Chesapeake Bay and its tributaries have been required to purchase and hold a saltwater fishing license, but coastal waters in and around Ocean City have been exempt. Depending on where you live, the type of fishing you plan to conduct and for how long, you may have several options when it comes to your Maryland fishing license, which have different rates.
Get fishing tips and tricks and read personal stories from anglers who live and breathe fishing and boating. Saltwater anglers who are not required to have a Maryland Bay %26 coastal sport fishing license and want to fish in the Chesapeake Bay and the tidal Potomac River must obtain a free Maryland saltwater angler registration. The State of Maryland imposes several exemptions to require a fishing license before they are allowed to fish in the state's waters. To fish in the Chesapeake Bay and its 365 days, you must purchase the Chesapeake Bay %26 Coastal Sport Fish License.
Having a license will allow you to legally fish in the different lakes, streams, and marine fishing sites across the state.